Association of Texas Small School Bands

in our 27th year of service to small school bands in Texas




ATSSB Home


Advertisers


All-State Program Archives


All-State Repertoire


2017-18 Application


Areas


Auditions


Bands


Commissioned Works


Composition Competition


Constitution


Directory


Executive Secretary


Feedback


Jazz Ensemble


Job Board


Licensees


Links


Membership Card


Newsletter Archives


Newsletter


Officers


Online Forms


OPS


Past-Presidents


Regions


S A L


TMAA/ATSSB Members


TMEA

Association of Texas Small School Bands  
ATSSB State Officers

(5-7-17)

Mike Bartley - President

John Rauschuber - President-Elect

Jim Cude - Immediate Past President

Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary

Jason Smith - 4A Representative

Angie Liss - 3A Representative

Carroll Rhodes - 1A/2A Representative

Marilyn K. Bennett - 1C Representative

Christina Smith - 2C Representative


Outstanding Performance Series

Collin Anderson - State Chair


Active Founding Charter Members

John Gibson

Kenneth Griffin

R. Michael Hardy

Mike Marsh

Fred Pankratz

Elmer Schenk


ATSSB Email Directory
Mike Bartley - President - mbartley@cantonisd.net
John Rauschuber - President-Elect - johnr@fisd.org
Jim Cude - Immediate Past-President - bandguy564@gmail.com
Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary - atssb@att.net
Jason Smith - 4A Representative - jsmith@northlamar.net
Angie Liss- 3A Representative - liss.angie@howeisd.net
Carrol Rhodes - 1A/2A Representative - crhodes@tahoka.esc17.net
Marilyn K. Bennett - 1C Representative - mbennett@olneyisd.net
Cristina Smith - 2C Representative - donrt3@gmail.com
Collin Anderson - OPS State Chair - opsstatechair@gmail.com
Tim Edins - ATSSB Website Design & Maintenance - edins@atssb.org

ATSSB Region Coordinators 2016-17

01 Dr. Jonathan Kraemer - Jon.Kraemer@pampaisd.net

02 Asa Burk - aburk@argyleisd.com

03 Mike Bartley - mikeyb0822@hotmail.com

04 Jason Steele- steelej@woisd.net

05 Chris McLellan- CMcLellan@springtownisd.net

06 Darin K. Johns - djohns@andrews.esc18.net

07 Brian Beeson- brian.beeson@burkburnettisd.org

08 Pam Hyatt - pamhyatt@mac.com

09 Michael Wilson - mwilson@shepherdisd.net

10 Russell Hopkins - russell.hopkins@warrenisd.net

11 Leo Garza - lgarza9278@sbcglobal.net

12 Sandy Brown - snoopy.79353@yahoo.com

13 Rod Rodriguez - rodrodriguez@comcast.net

14 Charles Cabrera - ccabrera@stx.rr.com

15 Eddie Benitez - eddieb2323@yahoo.com

16 Matt Knight - mknight@abernathyisd.com

18 Ann Lowes Mueller - ann.lowesmueller@gmail.com

21 Gehrig Blankenship - gehrig.blankenship@gmail.com

22 Alma Beach - Alma.Beach@yahoo.com

23 John Pritchett - jpritchett@bellvilleisd.org

24 Brandon Brewer - bbrewer@princetonisd.net

29 John Rauschuber - johnr@fisd.org

ATSSB Area Coordinators 2016-17

Central: Perry Morris - morris1050@gmail.com

East: Rusty Lay - rlay@athensisd.net

North: Brandon Brewer - bbrewer@princetonisd.net

South: Emerico Perez III - emericop@yahoo.com

West: Rodney Gurley - rgurley@idalouisd.net


ATSSB Officer Bios

 


Mike Bartley - President

Mike Bartley is in his first year as Director of Bands/Fine Arts for Canton Independent School District.  Previously, he served five years as Associate Band Director for Canton ISD.  Mr. Bartley is a 1993 high honors graduate of the University of Arkansas and is in his 22nd year of teaching.  He has held teaching positions in Owasso, Oklahoma, Alma, Arkansas, and Spearman, Texas.  Immediately prior to coming to Canton, Mr. Bartley held a position as assistant band director in Wills Point where he served as percussion instructor, seventh grade band director, and director of the high school concert band.  During the time that he assisted in Wills Point, the program grew and became competitive at UIL Region, Area, and State levels, attending the Texas AAA state marching competition three times and winning the silver medal in 2006.  While Mr. Bartley assisted at Canton, the band attended the AAA state marching competition twice, finishing 5th place in 2010 and 4th place in 2012.  This fall, under Mr. Bartley's direction, the Canton Band competed in the 2014 Texas AAAA state marching competition, finishing in 6th place.  Bands under Mr. Bartley's direction have consistently received sweepstakes awards throughout his career.  Mr. Bartley's bands have also competed in the ATSSB Outstanding Performance Series, having recordings move to the Area level, as well as being a State Finalist.  In addition to his duties at Canton ISD, Mr. Bartley also serves as the ATSSB Region 3 Coordinator and served as the ATSSB AAA State Representative from 2012-2014.  He is an active adjudicator and serves on the faculty of the University of Arkansas Summer Music Camp.  Mr. Bartley is a member of the Texas Music Educators Association, Association of Texas Small School Bands, Texas Bandmasters Association, Texas Music Adjudicators Association, and Pi Kappa Lambda.  Mr. Bartley and his wife, Jenny, a music educator in Grand Saline ISD, have two sons.  Daniel, age 12, is a seventh grader who plays trumpet, and Matthew, age 9, is a fourth grader, both attending Canton ISD.

 

Jim Cude - Immediate Past-President

Jim Cude is the band director at Whitesboro High School in Region 5. He received his Bachelor of Music degree from Hardin-Simmons University. He taught in Roby from 1987-88, Roscoe from 988-1993, Hamlin from 1993-2000, Breckenridge from 2000-2002, and Whitesboro from 2002 to the present.He is a member of ATSSB, TMEA, TMAA, and Phi Beta Mu. Mr. Cude served as 3A Representative to the State Board for ATSSB from 2011-2012. He also served on the TMEA State Board as the Region 2 President from 2000-2002, chairman of the TMEA Region 2 district band from 1995-2002, and served ATSSB Region 2 and ATSSB Region 5 as a region band organizer. He also served as the organizer of the Region 5 workshop. Mr. Cude is currently serving as the contemporary music pastor at the First Baptist Church in Whitesboro where he was also elected as a deacon. In 2012, he organized a church-wide effort to serve the city of Whitesboro in various service projects. He has also organized and participated in mission trips to the city of New Orleans at Christmas to feed and serve the homeless. His bands have consistently received the UIL Sweepstakes award and performed at the State Marching Contest in 2002, 2004 and 2006. He has adjudicated bands both in Texas and Oklahoma. Mr. Cude was inducted into Phi Beta Mu in 2005. He and his wife Linda have two children: 20-year-old Lauren who is a college student, and 15-year-old Caleb, a freshmen at Whitesboro High School.

 

Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary

Kenneth Griffin received his Bachelors and Masters degree from East Texas State University (now Texas A&M-Commerce). He is currently teaching part-time as band director at St. John Paul II Catholic School in Houston. He retired after teaching thirty-one years in public schools, the last twenty of which were at Van High School. His bands in Van accumulated a string of nineteen consecutive Sweepstakes Awards, was named the 1986 AAA TMEA State Honor Band, won the AAA Sweepstakes Trophy at the 1986 Texas State Solo Ensemble Contest in Austin, and was named the Outstanding AAA Band at the 1988 National Association of Military Marching Bands Texas State Marching Contest. He is a life member of TSTA, is a founding charter member and Executive Secretary of the Association of Texas Small School Bands, is a member of the Texas Music Adjudicators Association and Phi Beta Mu and serves as a clinician and adjudicator across the state. His wife Jeannie is retired from a career in public school music, having taught junior and senior high choir and elementary music for twenty five years. His daughter Alecia is a Cum Laude graduate of Southern Methodist University in Dallas and the Juilliard School of Music in New York and is Founder, principal oboe and Executive Director of the River Oaks Chamber Orchestra in Houston (www.rocohouston.org). He is a published composer of instrumental and choral music, most recently concert marches "Talion", "Day To Day", "Where Eagles Dare", "First Colony," and "White Oak" distributed by The Griffin Press on the Internet. He was commissioned by ATSSB to write a march commemorating the 25th anniversary of ATSSB's founding. The march is entitled "Resolution" and was premiered by the 2016 ATSSB All-State Symphonic Band under the direction of Stephen Pratt.

Collin Anderson - OPS State Chair

Collin is the director of bands at Groesebeck ISD.



ATSSB Online is sponsored in part by


Copyright © 2003 ATSSB

Not responsible for the content of external links.  

 
ATSSB Job Board
The
ATSSB Job Board
is
ONLINE
ATSSB Directory
Click Here for the
ATSSB Member Directory
ATSSB Areas

Central

East

North

South

West


ATSSB Regions

1

2 (includes 31)

3 (includes 20)

4

5 (includes 30)

6

7

8

9 (includes 33)

10 (includes 19)

11

12

13 (includes 17)

14

15 (includes 28)

16

18 (Includes 26)

21

22

23 (includes 27)

24 (includes 25)

29 (includes 32)

Legislative Info

Texas Legislature Online

Texas House of Representatives


What's New?