ATSSB State Officers

(9-21-16)

Jim Cude - President

Mike Bartley - President-Elect

John Young - Immediate Past President

Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary

John Rauschuber - 4A Representative

Angie Liss - 3A Representative

Carroll Rhodes - 1A/2A Representative

Marilyn K. Bennett - 1C/2C Representative


Outstanding Performance Series

Don Thoede - State Chair

Collin Anderson - State Chair Designate


Active Founding Charter Members

John Gibson

Kenneth Griffin

R. Michael Hardy

Mike Marsh

Fred Pankratz

Elmer Schenk


ATSSB Email Directory
Jim Cude - President - bandguy564@gmail.com
Mike Bartley - President-Elect - mbartley@cantonisd.net
John Young - Immediate Past-President -john.young@wpisd.com
Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary - atssb@att.net
John Rauschuber - 4A Representative - johnr@fisd.org
Angie Liss- 3A Representative - liss.angie@howeisd.net
Carrol Rhodes - 1A/2A Representative - crhodes@tahoka.esc17.net
Marilyn K. Bennett - 1C/2C Representative - mbennett@olneyisd.net
Don Thoede - OPS State Chair - donrt3@gmail.com
Collin Anderson - OPS State Chair Designate- c.ander@groesbeckisd.net
Tim Edins - ATSSB Website Design & Maintenance - edins@atssb.org

ATSSB Region Coordinators 2016-17

01 Dr. Jonathan Kraemer - Jon.Kraemer@pampaisd.net

02 Asa Burk - aburk@argyleisd.com

03 Mike Bartley - mikeyb0822@hotmail.com

04 Jason Steele- steelej@woisd.net

05 Chris McLellan- CMcLellan@springtownisd.net

06 Darin K. Johns - djohns@andrews.esc18.net

07 Brian Beeson- brian.beeson@burkburnettisd.org

08 Pam Hyatt - pamhyatt@mac.com

09 Michael Wilson - mwilson@shepherdisd.net

10 Russell Hopkins - russell.hopkins@warrenisd.net

11 Leo Garza - lgarza9278@sbcglobal.net

12 Sandy Brown - snoopy.79353@yahoo.com

13 Rod Rodriguez - rodrodriguez@comcast.net

14 Charles Cabrera - ccabrera@stx.rr.com

15 Eddie Benitez - eddieb2323@yahoo.com

16 Matt Knight - mknight@abernathyisd.com

18 Ann Lowes Mueller - ann.lowesmueller@gmail.com

21 Gehrig Blankenship - gehrig.blankenship@gmail.com

22 Alma Beach - Alma.Beach@yahoo.com

23 John Pritchett - jpritchett@bellvilleisd.org

24 Brandon Brewer - bbrewer@princetonisd.net

29 John Rauschuber - johnr@fisd.org

ATSSB Area Coordinators 2016-17

Central: Perry Morris - morris1050@gmail.com

East: Rusty Lay - rlay@athensisd.net

North: Brandon Brewer - bbrewer@princetonisd.net

South: Emerico Perez III - emericop@yahoo.com

West: Rodney Gurley - rgurley@idalouisd.net


ATSSB Officer Bios

 


Jim Cude- President

Jim Cude is the band director at Whitesboro High School in Region 5. He received his Bachelor of Music degree from Hardin-Simmons University. He taught in Roby from 1987-88, Roscoe from 988-1993, Hamlin from 1993-2000, Breckenridge from 2000-2002, and Whitesboro from 2002 to the present.He is a member of ATSSB, TMEA, TMAA, and Phi Beta Mu. Mr. Cude served as 3A Representative to the State Board for ATSSB from 2011-2012. He also served on the TMEA State Board as the Region 2 President from 2000-2002, chairman of the TMEA Region 2 district band from 1995-2002, and served ATSSB Region 2 and ATSSB Region 5 as a region band organizer. He also served as the organizer of the Region 5 workshop. Mr. Cude is currently serving as the contemporary music pastor at the First Baptist Church in Whitesboro where he was also elected as a deacon. In 2012, he organized a church-wide effort to serve the city of Whitesboro in various service projects. He has also organized and participated in mission trips to the city of New Orleans at Christmas to feed and serve the homeless. His bands have consistently received the UIL Sweepstakes award and performed at the State Marching Contest in 2002, 2004 and 2006. He has adjudicated bands both in Texas and Oklahoma. Mr. Cude was inducted into Phi Beta Mu in 2005. He and his wife Linda have two children: 20-year-old Lauren who is a college student, and 15-year-old Caleb, a freshmen at Whitesboro High School.

Mike Bartley- President-Elect

Mike Bartley is in his first year as Director of Bands/Fine Arts for Canton Independent School District.  Previously, he served five years as Associate Band Director for Canton ISD.  Mr. Bartley is a 1993 high honors graduate of the University of Arkansas and is in his 22nd year of teaching.  He has held teaching positions in Owasso, Oklahoma, Alma, Arkansas, and Spearman, Texas.  Immediately prior to coming to Canton, Mr. Bartley held a position as assistant band director in Wills Point where he served as percussion instructor, seventh grade band director, and director of the high school concert band.  During the time that he assisted in Wills Point, the program grew and became competitive at UIL Region, Area, and State levels, attending the Texas AAA state marching competition three times and winning the silver medal in 2006.  While Mr. Bartley assisted at Canton, the band attended the AAA state marching competition twice, finishing 5th place in 2010 and 4th place in 2012.  This fall, under Mr. Bartley's direction, the Canton Band competed in the 2014 Texas AAAA state marching competition, finishing in 6th place.  Bands under Mr. Bartley's direction have consistently received sweepstakes awards throughout his career.  Mr. Bartley's bands have also competed in the ATSSB Outstanding Performance Series, having recordings move to the Area level, as well as being a State Finalist.  In addition to his duties at Canton ISD, Mr. Bartley also serves as the ATSSB Region 3 Coordinator and served as the ATSSB AAA State Representative from 2012-2014.  He is an active adjudicator and serves on the faculty of the University of Arkansas Summer Music Camp.  Mr. Bartley is a member of the Texas Music Educators Association, Association of Texas Small School Bands, Texas Bandmasters Association, Texas Music Adjudicators Association, and Pi Kappa Lambda.  Mr. Bartley and his wife, Jenny, a music educator in Grand Saline ISD, have two sons.  Daniel, age 12, is a seventh grader who plays trumpet, and Matthew, age 9, is a fourth grader, both attending Canton ISD.

 

John Young - Immediate Past-President

John Young is band director and Music Supervisor in Wills Point, Texas at Wills Point High School.  He received his music degrees from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, AR.  He also holds a Masters in Education Administration from Texas A&M @ Commerce.  John is currently in his 13th year at Wills Point. Under John’s leadership and an excellent staff the Wills Point High School Band has earned its first UIL Sweepstakes award and has maintained a streak of 10 since the first.  The band has been successful at the SMC finishing 2nd, 5th and 10th respectively.  The band currently has 140 in high school and almost 350 in the junior high.  At the same time that this growth has occurred, so has the success of the band. The Wills Point band staff are committed to music excellence in Wills Point and the state of Texas. He has served as the state ATSSB Jazz Chairman and served three terms as ATSSB AAA representative. He has worked closely with the state board of directors and the executive secretary. John and his wife Tracy have two daughters, Emily and Claire.  He is currently a member of ATSSB, TMEA, TBA and TMAA. 

 

 

Kenneth Griffin - Executive Secretary

Kenneth Griffin received his Bachelors and Masters degree from East Texas State University (now Texas A&M-Commerce). He is currently teaching part-time as band director at St. John Paul II Catholic School in Houston. He retired after teaching thirty-one years in public schools, the last twenty of which were at Van High School. His bands in Van accumulated a string of nineteen consecutive Sweepstakes Awards, was named the 1986 AAA TMEA State Honor Band, won the AAA Sweepstakes Trophy at the 1986 Texas State Solo Ensemble Contest in Austin, and was named the Outstanding AAA Band at the 1988 National Association of Military Marching Bands Texas State Marching Contest. He is a life member of TSTA, is a founding charter member and Executive Secretary of the Association of Texas Small School Bands, is a member of the Texas Music Adjudicators Association and Phi Beta Mu and serves as a clinician and adjudicator across the state. His wife Jeannie is retired from a career in public school music, having taught junior and senior high choir and elementary music for twenty five years. His daughter Alecia is a Cum Laude graduate of Southern Methodist University in Dallas and the Juilliard School of Music in New York and is Founder, principal oboe and Executive Director of the River Oaks Chamber Orchestra in Houston (www.rocohouston.org). He is a published composer of instrumental and choral music, most recently concert marches "Talion", "Day To Day", "Where Eagles Dare", "First Colony," and "White Oak" distributed by The Griffin Press on the Internet. He was commissioned by ATSSB to write a march commemorating the 25th anniversary of ATSSB's founding. The march is entitled "Resolution" and was premiered by the 2016 ATSSB All-State Symphonic Band under the direction of Stephen Pratt.

Don Thoede - OPS State Chair

Don Thoede retired from Clifton High School, a Class AAA school, on Jan. 1, 1998, as the Director of Bands. While in Clifton, his bands earned 9 consecutive UIL Sweepstakes Awards, competed in the UIL State Marching Contest Finals 5 times, placing 2nd in 1996. His concert bands were TMEA Honor Band Finalists 3 times, and 2 of his contest pieces placed 6th and 8th in the 1997 Outstanding Performance Series. He was awarded the Denius-UIL Sponsor Excellence Award in 1996. He is a member of ATSSB, TMEA, TBA, TMAA, and Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia. He is presently the State Chair of the ATSSB Outstanding Performance Series. He serves as a clinician and adjudicator across the state. He and his wife Joan have one married daughter.