ATSSB CLINICIANS & COMPOSERS

1992	Gary Lewis from the University of Michigan
1993	Myron Welch from the University of Iowa
1994	Jared Spears from Arkansas State University
	ELDORADO by Jared Spears (commissioned by ATSSB)
1995	James Curnow
1006	LONE STAR CELEBRATION, by James Curnow (commissioned by ATSSB)
1996	Robert Foster from the University of Kansas
1997	ELEGY FOR SELENA by Robert Foster (commissioned by ATSSB)
	Dr. Tim Lautzenheiser - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Dr. Gary Garner - CONCERT BAND
	ROMANZA SEMPLICE by Fred Allen (commissioned by ATSSB)
1998	Anthony Maiello from George Mason University - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Ed Huckeby - CONCERT BAND
	NEW MILLENNIUM by Ed Huckeby (commissioned by ATSSB)
1999	Col. Alan Bonner - SYMPHONIC BAND
	John O'Reilly - CONCERT BAND
	YORKSHIRE FANTASY by John O'Reilley (commissioned by ATSSB)
2000	David Holsinger - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Jack Delaney from Southern Methodist University - CONCERT BAND
	RIDING WITH THE FRONTIER BATTALION by David Holsinger (commissioned by ATSSB)
2001	Col. Arnald D. Gabriel (U.S. Air Force, Ret.) - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Bobby Francis from Texas Christian University - CONCERT BAND
	HILL COUNTRY HOLIDAY by Robert Sheldon (commissioned by ATSSB)
2002	Anthony Maiello from George Mason University - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Robert W. Smith - CONCERT BAND
	THE STAR OF DREAMS by Robert W. Smith (commissioned by ATSSB)
2003	W. Francis McBeth from Ouachita University - SYMPHONIC BAND
	James Barnes from the University of Kansas - CONCERT BAND
	A SOLEMN PRELUDE by James Barnes (commissioned by ATSSB)
2004	Jim Keene from the University of Illinois - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Shelly Berg from the University of Southern California - JAZZ ENSEMBLE
	Kevin Sedatole from Baylor University - CONCERT BAND
	FORTRESS VARIANTS by Elliot Del Borgo (commissioned by ATSSB)
2005	Richard Floyd (UIL State Director of Music) - SYMPHONIC BAND
	H. David Caffey from California State Polytechnical University - JAZZ ENSEMBLE
	Fred J. Allen from Stephen F. Austin State University - CONCERT BAND
	EXHILARATION by Fred J. Allen (commissioned by ATSSB)
2006	Col. John R. Bourgeois (USMC, Ret.) - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Rick Stitzel from Tarrant County College - JAZZ ENSEMBLE
	Paula Crider from the University of Texas at Austin - CONCERT BAND
	FROM ANAHUAC TO SAN JACINTO by Gabe Musella (commissioned by ATSSB)
2007	Jerry Junkin from the University of Texas at Austin - SYMPHONIC BAND
	Jeff Hellmer from the University of Texas at Austin - JAZZ ENSEMBLE
	Bill Brent from Northwestern State University (Natichitoches, LA) - CONCERT BAND
	ON THE OVERLAND STAGE TO FL PASO by David Holsinger (commissioned by ATSSR)

2008 David Holsinger from Lee University - SYMPHONIC BAND Dr. Lou Fischer from Capital University Conservatory of Music - JAZZ ENSEMBLE Robert Sheldon - CONCERT BAND CHOREOGRAPHY by Robert Sheldon (commissioned by ATSSB) 2009 John Whitwell from Michigan State University - SYMPHONIC BAND Mike Vax – International Artist, Getzen Corporation- JAZZ ENSEMBLE Dr. William K. Wakefield from the University of Oklahoma - CONCERT BAND TOWARDS THE WESTERN HORIZON by Philip Sparke (commissioned by ATSSB) Mark Camphouse from George Mason University – SYMPHONIC BAND 2010 Glenn Kostur, Director of Jazz Studies, University of New Mexico – JAZZ ENSEMBLE Dr. Sarah McKoin from Texas Tech University – CONCERT BAND PARAMOUNT PARK by Eric Rath, winner of the 2010 ATSSB Composition Competition 2011 Larry J. Livingston from the University of Southern California – SYMPHONIC BAND Chris Vadala from the University of Maryland – JAZZ ENSEMBLE Lowell Graham from the University of Texas at El Paso – CONCERT BAND KITTIE HAWK, 1909 by William Owens (commissioned by ATSSB) 2012 Col. Timothy W. Foley (USMC, ret.) – SYMPHONIC BAND Dennis Fisher (University of North Texas) – CONCERT BAND EGYPT, THE AWAKENING by Billy Newman, winner of the 2012 ATSSB Composition Competition Jeff Jarvis (California State University, Long Beach) – JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2013 Dr. Peter Boonshaft (Hofstra University) – SYMPHONIC BAND Larry Gookin (Central Washington University) – CONCERT BAND INSUPERABLE! (SECOND TO NONE) by William Owens (Commissioned by ATSSB) Dr. Ron McCurdy (University of Southern California) – JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2014 Richard Floyd (UIL State Director of Music) - SYMPHONIC BAND Dr. Timothy Rhea (Texas A&M University) – CONCERT BAND (1st year of 1A/2A) AND SAIL AWAY by Jack Wilds, winner of the 2014 ATSSB Composition Competition Chuck Owen (University of Southern Florida) – JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2015 Michael Haithcock (University of Michigan) - SYMPHONIC BAND Dr. Eric Hammer (Pacific Conservatory of Music) - CONCERT BAND IMAGINARIUM by Randall Standridge (Commissioned by ATSSB) Robert Washut (University of Northern Iowa) - JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2016 Stephen Pratt (Indiana University) - SYMPHONIC BAND RESOLUTION march by Kenneth L. Griffin (commissioned by ATSSB for the 25th Anniversary) Robert Jorgensen (Univesity of Akron) - CONCERT BAND WHERE MORNING DAWNS, WHERE EVENING FADES by Eric Rath, winner of 2016 ATSSB Composition Competition Dean Sorenson (University of Minnesota) - JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2017 Joseph P. Missal (Oklahoma State University) - SYMPHONIC BAND ARMENIAN RHAPSODY by Johnnie Vinson (commissioned by ATSSB) Jeff Gershman (Capitol University - Columbus, Ohio) - CONCERT BAND Ellen Rowe (University of Michigan) - JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2018: Brian Britt (University of Oklahoma) - SYMPHONIC BAND Dr. Matthew McInturf (Sam Houston State University) - CONCERT BAND CHICAGO BELLE MOTIFS by Kenneth L. Griffin, winner of the 2018 ATSSB Composition Competition Jay Saunders (University of North Texas) - JAZZ ENSEMBLE 2019: Dr. John Cody Birdwell (University of Kentucky) - SYMPHONIC BAND SPRINGERLE by Jack Stamp (commissioned by ATSSB) Dennis Johnson (Murray State University, Kentucky), CONCERT BAND Christopher Bruya (Central Washington University), JAZZ ENSEMBLE

2020: Eugene Corporon (University of North Texas), SYMPHONIC BAND

Dr. David F. Wilborn (Texas A&M University), CONCERT BAND

SCHERZITO, AFTER GUSTAV HOLST by Christopher Lowry, winner of the 2020 ATSSB Composition Competition

Paul Harshman (University of Washington), JAZZ ENSEMBLE

2021: CONCELLED DUE TO PANDEMIC but rescheduled for June 9-12, 2021 in Melissa

Brian Balmages (FJH Music) - SYMPHONIC BAND

BREAKING THROUGH by Brian Balmages (commissioned by ATSSB)

Don Lefevre (West Texas A&M University), CONCERT BAND

Dr. Mo Trout (Purdue University), JAZZ ENSEMBLE

2022: Caroline Beatty (Texas State University) - CONCERT BAND

RISING by Clif Jones (commissioned by ATSSB)

Emily Threinen (University of Minnesota) - SYMPHONIC BAND

THE ESSENCE OF MEMORY by BJ Brooks (commissioned by ATSSB in memory of Darin K. Johns)

Russell Schmidt (Director, Valley Jazz Cooperative in Phoenix), JAZZ ENSEMBLE

2023: Dr. David Allen Waybright (University of Florida) – SYMPHONIC BAND

Dr. BJ Brooks (West Texas A&M University) - CONCERT BAND

Steve Owen (University of Oregon) - JAZZ ENSEMBLE